Information (2023)


The Dutch chess club Paul Keres will organize the 48th Utrecht Open Chess Championships (OKU) in 2023. The tournament will be held from Friday May 19 until Sunday May 21 and will be played at the Berenschot office in the south of Utrecht.


Players will be divided into three groups according to FIDE- or national ELO-rating. Group A is only for players with a rating of 1850 or higher, Group B is only for players with a rating between 1500 and 1900, while Group C is only for players with a rating below 1600. The organization may deviate from these rules in exceptional cases. All groups will play a six rounds Swiss tournament following the FIDE-regulations.
The rate of play will be all moves in 110 minutes + 10 seconds added time per move.

It is possible to take up to two byes in rounds 1 to 4. These two byes in rounds 1-4 will be counted as a draw, and they need to be requested before the start of the tournament. Any other byes or absences will result in an automatic loss of the game. Bye-requests should be communicated to the organization before the tournament starts.


All results will be communicated to the Dutch chess federation, but not to the FIDE.


Fr, May 19 9:00-10:00 Registration
10:15 Pairing
10:25 Opening
10:30-14:30 Round 1
15:15-19:15 Round 2
Sa, May 20 10:30-14:30 Round 3
15:15-19:15 Round 4
Su, May 21 09:15-13:15 Round 5
14:00-18:00 Round 6
18:30-19:15 Prize ceremony

Prize money

Prize Group A Group B Group C
1st € 1200 € 250 € 150
2nd € 700 € 200 € 125
3rd € 400 € 150 € 100
4th € 300 € 100 € 75
5th € 200 € 75
6th € 100

If a tie occurs, prizes are split.

There will also be four rating prizes; 40 euro each for the best players with a rating below 2200 and 2000 in group A, below 1700 in group B and below 1400 in group C.

Entry and contact information

The entry fee of the tournament will be:

Group A € 30 (FM € 15; GM/IM free)
Group B € 25
Group C € 25

You can pay the entry fee by a bank payment. Please do this before May 25.

NL44 INGB 0001 6673 37
Recipient name:
Schaakvereniging Paul Keres

Registration is closed

You can also contact tournament director Jan Jaap Janse by mail or by phone: +31-624395397.
On entry, please give your name, full address, date of birth, club and Elo-rating (KNSB and/or FIDE). Also indicate whether you wish to receive a bye in one of the first four rounds, and which group you like to play in.


The OKU will be held at:
LIFE gebouw (Berenschot)
Van Deventerlaan 31-51
Utrecht (Papendorp)

You can get a simple lunch in the playing venue. Paying electronically is possible. On Friday, you can have lunch close to the playing venue. During the whole weekend, there are a lot of possibilities to eat at the other side of the bridge (20 minutes walk).


You can reach the playing venue from Utrecht-city by the Prins Clausbrug (bridge). Are you coming from highway A2: take exit 8a (from western/southern direction) or 8 (from northern direction). Coming from highway A12, take exit 16. Keep in mind to follow Ring Utrecht-West or Ring Utrecht-Zuid when approaching the city.

Public transport

From Utrecht Central Station, there are multiple options to reach the Papendorp area within 10 minutes. It takes a 10 minute walk from the bus stop to the playing venue. Check 9292. The venue is accessible by public transport even on Sunday morning.

1998: IM Evgeny Ragozin

Hall of fame

1974: Peter Monte
1975: Anton v.d. Weij
1976: Anton Rosmüller
1977: IM Bruno Carlier
1978: IM Frans Borm
1979: IM Bruno Carlier
1980: IM Herman Grooten
1981: IM Bert Enklaar
1982: FM Han Janssen
1983: Jan Voormans
1984: IM Frans Cuijpers
1985: IM Jeroen Vanheste
1986: IM Liafbern Riemersma
1987: FM Han Janssen
1988: IM Frans Cuijpers
1989: IM Johan van Mil
1990: IM Bernd Schneider
1991: IM Rini Kuyf
1992: IGM Roberto Cifuentes
1993: FM Juri Vetemaa
1994: IGM Igor Glek
1995: Martin Roobol
1996: IGM Alex Wojtkiewicz
1997: IM Erik v.d. Doel
1999: IGM Igor Glek
2000: IGM Alexander Dgebuadze
2001: Erwin l’Ami
2002: IGM Normunds Miezis
2003: IGM Vladimir Epishin
2004: IGM Vladimir Epishin
2005: IGM Erwin l’Ami
2006: IGM Vyacheslav Ikonnikov
2007: IGM Slavko Cicak
2008: IGM Friso Nijboer
2009: IGM Friso Nijboer
2010: IGM Vyacheslav Ikonnikov
2011: IGM Dimitri Reinderman
2012: IGM Namig Guliyev
2013: IGM Ruud Janssen
2014: IGM Zhaoqin Peng
2015: IGM Csaba Horvath
2016: IGM Jorden van Foreest
2017: IGM Csaba Horvath
2018: IGM Csaba Horvath
2019: IM Hugo ten Hertog
2020: –
2021: –
2022: FM Luuk Baselmans