Information (2019)


The Dutch chess club Paul Keres will organize the 46th Utrecht Open Chess Championships (OKU) in 2019. The tournament will be held from May 31 to June 2 and will be played at the Utrechts Stedelijk Gymnasium school, close to the centre of Utrecht.


Players will be divided into three groups according to FIDE- or national ELO-rating. Group A is only for players with a rating of 1850 or higher, Group B is only for players with a rating between 1500 and 1900, while Group C is only for players with a rating below 1600. The organization may deviate from these rules in exceptional cases. All groups will play a six rounds Swiss tournament following the FIDE-regulations.
The rate of play will be all moves in 110 minutes + 10 seconds added time per move. Additionally there will be a four-man Round-Robin (RR) for those who don’t wish to play more than one game a day.

Smoking is prohibited in the playing area.

It is possible to take up to two byes in rounds 1 to 4. These two byes in rounds 1-4 will be counted as a draw, and they need to be requested before the start of the tournament. Any other byes or absences will result in an automatic loss of the game. Bye-requests should be communicated to the organization before the tournament starts.


All results will be communicated to the Dutch chess federation, but not to the FIDE.


Fr, May 31 18.15-19.00 Registration
19.00-19.15 Pairing
19.15-19.30 Opening
19.30-23.30 Round 1 (RR: 1)
Sa, June 1 09.15-13.15 Round 2
14.15-18.15 Round 3 (RR: 2)
19.30-23.30 Round 4
Su, June 2 09.15-13.15 Round 5
14.15-18.15 Round 6 (RR: 3)
18.45-19.30 Prize ceremony

Prize money

Prize Group A Group B Group C
1st € 750 € 250 € 150
2nd € 500 € 150 € 100
3rd € 250 € 100 € 50
4th € 150 € 50
5th € 100
6th € 50

If a tie occurs, prizes are split.

There will also be four rating prizes; 40 euro each for the best players with a rating below 2200 and 2000 in group A, below 1700 in group B and below 1400 in group C.

Round robin winners receive 25 euro each.

Entry and contact information

The entry fee of the tournament will be:

Group A € 30 (FM € 15; GM/IM free)
Group B € 25
Group C € 25

Payment on registration at the tournament hall.

Entry by this webform.

You can also contact tournament director Jan Jaap Janse by mail or by phone: +31-624395397.
On entry, please give your name, full address, date of birth, club and Elo-rating (KNSB and/or FIDE). Also indicate whether you wish to receive a bye in one of the first four rounds, and which group you like to play in.


The OKU will be held at:
Utrechts Stedelijk Gymnasium
Ina Boudier-Bakkerlaan 7
3585 VA Utrecht

Utrechts Stedelijk Gymnasium

Keep in mind that cash withdrawal is not possible in and close to the playing venue.


Location playing venue
Click the map to take a close look


From southern direction: when approaching Utrecht on highway A12, follow ‘Ring Zuid’ and take exit 18. On the roundabout, turn to the Waterlinieweg, following signs to Utrecht-centrum. Leave the Waterlinieweg at the second exit: Centrum-west/Galgenwaard. Turn left at the crossing to Stadionlaan. Go straight ahead for about 500 metres and turn right Ina Boudier-Bakkerlaan just before the tunnel and the high apartment building on the right side. You will find the playing venue after about 350 on your left hand.
From eastern direction: at intersection Knooppunt Rijnsweerd (A27/A28), choose A28 to Utrecht-centrum. At the end of this highway, turn left to the Waterlinieweg. Choose the first exit: Centrum-west/Galgenwaard. Follow the road until the crossing, turn right there to Stadionlaan. Go straight ahead for about 500 metres and turn right to Ina Boudier-Bakkerlaan just before the tunnel and the high apartment building on the right side. You will find the playing venue after about 350 metres on your left hand.


Around the Utrechts Stedelijk Gymnasium, you have to pay for parking from Monday until Saturday, until tot 21.00h (€ 2,93 per hour). Parking in the weekend and on Friday evenings after 18.00h is still free near the Lodewijk Napoleonplantsoen. To go there, turn left instead of right at the last turn of the above description.

Public transport

From Utrecht Central Station, exit Jaarbeurszijde, take bus 12 to Uithof/UMC or bus 41 to Stadion/Wijk bij Duurstede (platform C). Leave the bus at Rubenslaan. Walk a few metres back in the direction the bus came from and cross the road to the right, to Ina Boudier Bakkerlaan. You will find the Utrechts Stedelijk Gymnasium after 350 metres on your left hand. On the way back, you can take the same bus at the other side of the road. For more information: 9292OV or UV-info.

Hall of fame

1974: Peter Monte
1975: Anton v.d. Weij
1976: Anton Rosmüller
1977: IM Bruno Carlier
1978: IM Frans Borm
1979: IM Bruno Carlier
1980: IM Herman Grooten
1981: IM Bert Enklaar
1982: FM Han Janssen
1983: Jan Voormans
1984: IM Frans Cuijpers
1985: IM Jeroen Vanheste
1986: IM Liafbern Riemersma
1987: FM Han Janssen
1988: IM Frans Cuijpers
1989: IM Johan van Mil
1990: IM Bernd Schneider
1991: IM Rini Kuyf
1992: IGM Roberto Cifuentes
1993: FM Juri Vetemaa
1994: IGM Igor Glek
1995: Martin Roobol
1996: IGM Alex Wojtkiewicz
1997: IM Erik v.d. Doel
1998: IM Evgeny Ragozin
1999: IGM Igor Glek
2000: IGM Alexander Dgebuadze
2001: Erwin l’Ami
2002: IGM Normunds Miezis
2003: IGM Vladimir Epishin
2004: IGM Vladimir Epishin
2005: IGM Erwin l’Ami
2006: IGM Vyacheslav Ikonnikov
2007: IGM Slavko Cicak
2008: IGM Friso Nijboer
2009: IGM Friso Nijboer
2010: IGM Vyacheslav Ikonnikov
2011: IGM Dimitri Reinderman
2012: IGM Namig Guliyev
2013: IGM Ruud Janssen
2014: IGM Zhaoqin Peng
2015: IGM Csaba Horvath
2016: IGM Jorden van Foreest
2017: IGM Csaba Horvath
2018: IGM Csaba Horvath